top of page
Writer's picturejandrfarmstn

Turkey and Broccoli Casserole (THM-S)

I have an abundance of ground turkey. Now, ground turkey is a leaner meat option, and usually makes a great lean protein choice for a carb-ier meal, if you’re looking to separate fuels. (As in THM S or E meals.) I’m also looking for ways to cram all the veggies I can into a casserole! That’s why I included broccoli, and it went very well with the whole thing.


(THM notes: I started out wanting to create an E meal, but I just wasn’t feelin’ it, ya know? I was craving something a little more creamy and cheesy, so it is an S. I actually served this with brown rice as a side, because I pretty much do Crossovers for my dinners because I’m nursing my baby. But to keep it in S, you can do riced cauliflower or a side salad.)


This fills up a 9x13 dish.


Preheat oven to 350 degrees.


Turkey and Broccoli Casserole:


First part:

2 lbs ground turkey

1 onion

2 bell peppers

2 minced garlic cloves

1 tsp mineral salt

¼ tsp black pepper

1 tbsp nutritional yeast


Cook ground turkey, onion, and bell peppers together until the turkey is cooked. Add the garlic, and the other seasonings. Stir it up and let it cook for a minute, then pour it into the casserole dish.


In the same skillet do the next part:

½ cup chicken broth (I used my homemade bone broth)

1 cup or more of frozen broccoli florets. (You can use fresh too!)

Cook until the broccoli is tender, then whisk in:

½ tsp glucomannan (THM Gluccie is great.)


(I move all the broccoli over to one side, and whisk the gluccie into the liquid. When it’s dissolved, stir the broccoli back in.)


I sprinkled more salt and pepper over this mixture, and when it has cooked for about three more minutes, pour over the ground turkey in the dish.


Add about a cup of shredded cheese and layer it over the whole thing.


Cook for about 30 minutes.



7 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page