top of page
Writer's picturejandrfarmstn

A Variation on Natural Cleaners

If you can’t tell already from my other posts, I like to make things myself. I love knowing what goes into my cleaning products. I’m not an expert on how toxic store-bought cleaners are, but they hurt my nose therefore I like to skip the cleaning isle at the store and make them myself. There are so many great recipes out there for natural cleaning products. I have tried many! I have used fresh lemons, Dawn dish liquid, baking soda, essential oils, plain vinegar… and variations on all the above! I’ve experimented for years, and found the perfect cleaner for me.

It couldn’t be too hard to mix up. I had to have something that I could whip up quickly, because I usually forget I ran out… until it’s bath time and I need it right then. (So that rules out the fresh lemons.)

It also had to be completely natural and free of harsh chemicals.

This variation is easy, clean, and quick. I’ve mixed it up in less than 3 minutes. That’s with little boys running around waiting for their bathtub to get cleaned out!

My unit of measurement for this recipe is a large spray bottle. I believe I bought mine from Target. Plastic is fine.



Fill half the spray bottle with white vinegar.

Fill the rest of the way with water. (I never fill it all the way to the top, just up to the neck of the bottle.)

This is the fun part, and I’ll switch up scents depending on how I feel.

Using pure essential oils, put 15 drops each of two oils in the bottle. If you want to use 3 different oils, just do 10 drops each. My favorites are:

Lemon

Clove

Eucalyptus

Tea Tree

Currently, I’m using Lemon and Eucalyptus. If you have another favorite, I’m sure it would work here too! All of the oils I’ve listed are natural cleaners. So without using harmful chemicals, I feel good about using plant based essential oils to kill germs. Bonus—it smells amazing!

I use this every night in my bathtub. I also use it to clean the rest of the bathroom, then the kitchen, and even my floors. For especially tough bathroom grime, I sprinkle plain baking soda on the surface of what I’m cleaning. Then I spray this cleaner on the baking soda. (It fizzes and I think it sounds cool.) I let it sit for a few minutes and then scrub with a brush. It gets the bathtub spotless. It also works great on the toilet and sink where the little farmers have made messes.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page